Answers to your FAQs around Client Requests
When you introduce Client Requests to your clients, they may have some questions. Here are answers to some of the more common. You may wish to share these with them.
Why have I got a link to these tasks?
You have received a link to these tasks because the person who sent them to you uses Karbon to manage jobs in their company and they have some tasks they would like you complete.
What is Karbon?
Karbon is used by organizations and teams to manage their jobs, email, and collaborate with their clients. You can learn more here.
How do I complete these tasks?
When you have completed the tasks simply tick the box and it will be marked as completed. Before doing this, you can attach any files you’d like to send through this task.
What is a magic link and how does it work?
Karbon Client Portal is accessed through a magic link, which is a unique URL generated every time client tasks are sent and removes the need for a PIN, but more importantly, improves security.
When a client accesses the tasks sent to them, the link in the email is then associated with that device. This means that client tasks are only accessible from that device.
What if my client wants to access the client tasks from a different device?
Your client will be presented with a screen that has one call to action “Send Access Link”. This will send a newly generated magic link to the original email sent that will allow them to access the client tasks from the computer. The client tasks will now be associated with the new device. If they want to access it from another device, they will need to follow the same process.
What happens if the client opens the magic link on a phone and then wants to complete the client tasks on a computer?
It’s the same process as above.
Does the Magic Link Expire?
Yes. The magic link is valid for 30 days. If your client attempts to access the link after 30 days, they will need to generate a new magic link. The 30 days will recommence.
What happens to client tasks already sent?
There is no change for client tasks that were sent before the new Client Portal was enabled for you. If your clients open client tasks that have already been sent, they will need to use their PIN to log in from the email or they can log in via the Client Portal screen.
What happens if I resend my client tasks?
Resent client tasks will now be accessed through the magic link and be hosted on the new Client Portal. Your client will no longer require a PIN to access the client tasks.
Logging in to the Karbon Client Portal
What can my client see when they log in?
Karbon’s Client Portal provides clients with a full view and history of their requests, documents and communication. They will see up to 100 work items that have open requests for them to complete as well as view the last 100 completed work items they had Client Requests on.
What if my client needs to make changes to a completed work item/request?
They can see the requests, comments, and files which they can download. They cannot comment or change the status of the Client Request (completed > uncompleted). If you want your clients to make changes, you’ll need to change the status from completed to another status.
What if my client doesn’t want a Login?
They can continue to use the magic link and complete individual requests if they don’t want to create a login, however, the login provides greater flexibility for you and your client. The login enables your client to access everything sent to them including completed requests, as well as copies of documents and files uploaded—so they can keep track and easily find what’s been sent.
How can my client Login?
From the magic link by clicking log in on the left-hand side, or, you can share the URL provided in Settings. Clients can bookmark that link or if you’d prefer, you can add it to your website for frictionless access.
Can anyone make a Login for my account?
No. Only clients who are a contact in your Karbon account will be able to create a log in.
What if I delete a contact?
Their account will be deactivated and they will no longer be able to log in. However, if restored, they will be able to log in again.